Skip to content

Thinking of Rob and Pattinson Online talk about The Campaign on Twilight Diaries Podcast

December 9, 2009

21 Comments leave one →
  1. rpattzgirl permalink
    December 9, 2009 8:29 pm

    So glad to hear you’re keeping this up…

    Man people are really fired up against this… I don’t get it!
    Who wouldn’t want him to be safe???

    I fought with eclipsemovie.org all day Monday and they finally romoved the photos… Not just becuase of me if course, but a lot of us felt that way! Great job!

    • December 9, 2009 8:32 pm

      Our pleasure. We just couldn’t keep doing it on ToR 🙂

    • 1948iFeLtHoPe permalink
      December 9, 2009 11:06 pm

      Good job sticking up to that other website to help get them to remove the photos. I used to go to that website and newmoonmovie.org as well, but it’s actually been a while back that I read an interview done with Kellan Lutz about how negatively the constant attention on his every move has affected Rob. Then I really started to think about my actions, and how I was contributing to that by going to those websites. It was then that I stopped going to any websites that posted non-sanctioned pics of the cast. I relied almost exclusively on the Twilight Lexicon for my Twi-fix for the day. That’s one reason why I am so pumped about this campaign. I’ve felt like this for a while, but I never did anything about it except for my own little personal boycott. These wonderful ladies at ToR and Pattinsononline have really stepped up to the plate and I hope together we can all make a difference here. Or at least make more people take a moment to think about how their actions can negatively affect others.

    • December 10, 2009 8:37 am

      Yeah they were a few of us on NM.org on Monday protesting against the fact that they put those pictures up.
      I think so many people just don’t see Rob or any of the Saga Actors as real people. They see them as either “fair game” because they have chosen a public profession or as mere images on a screen or a magazine.

      I’ve read a few comments where people say “well they earn enough and they can affort to have all that security”. Others say “well they should just leave L.A. and the States”, indeed that might be a sollution but the root of the problem is not geographical, it’s ethical. Where do we draw the line? You think we’ve seen the worst of this? I doubt it, I mean these actors are money in the bank for the greedy. I fear that the abuse the Saga Actors will be subjected to from the paps is directly proportinal to how much money the movies make.

      I think firstly what these campaigns will do is show the Actors how much their fans care for their well-being. When you feel trapped it helps infinitely to know people care about you, and that we’ve done, we’ve shown just how much we care.

      Secondly if this campaign gets as big as I think it’s going to get, we will bring some highly needed attention to this matter and they law-makers will maybe finally see how overdue new laws to protect harrased celebrities are.

      As NM keeps going steady on the box office and with the release of Eclipse fastly approaching, this campaign will have more than enough fuel, we can count on the greedy paparazzi to “help” us with that!

      I’m proud to be part of a community so openly willing to fight for what they believe in!


      For the right to walk on the street!
      Fellow protest. Please JOIN US on Facebook.

      • December 11, 2009 11:35 am

        Hi

        cool website totally agree with you all. I’m a mom of 2 teen girls.
        Rob is awsome but the paparzzi’s have gone to far. So have the chaty
        little girls.At one point in time you could go to this web site
        type his name pay get everything # add. e-mail personal.I got that
        page stopped doing that I said I would report to FBI page if I had too.
        now it says all that info. private can’t give out.But theres a million
        more to report.
        laurie

  2. December 9, 2009 8:39 pm

    Very good project ! I support you ! You make a great job ! Thank you ! Thanks for Rob !

  3. 30yearoldtwifan permalink
    December 9, 2009 8:44 pm

    Yes, awesome job ladies! and I am sure Rob appreciates his fans and there support on this.

    Keep it up! Maybe try to change some pap laws out there? that would be my hope maybe one day, if persistent can happen if we all do this as one.

    • 1948iFeLtHoPe permalink
      December 9, 2009 11:10 pm

      That’s definitely a good thought. Why not take this to the legislature? I’m not saying paps should be outlawed completely, but it does seem like some more boundaries should be established for all the celebs out there. I think that together we could do it. Twilight fans have continually impressed me with their dedication to not only the Twilight universe, but also to good causes (like the Fandom gives back) and I know it sounds cliche but together we can make stuff happen.

  4. Clairland permalink
    December 10, 2009 5:18 am

    I totally agree with all of you guys… I’m feeling so embarassed by this pics, it’s really too much ! I’m feeling that way propably because I’m french, and in France we’ve got a legislature on private picture ?!!! But anyways, it’s an amazing project… keep going everyone ! ^^

  5. December 10, 2009 8:39 am

    I truly believe we can get the ball rolling! Great job everyone!

    COME and join us on FOR THE RIGHT TO WALK ON THE STREET! Find us on Facebook!

  6. Sili Schwempton permalink
    December 10, 2009 10:53 am

    I’m all for protecting Rob. I don’t want all of the media attention to drive him insane. He would probably just disappear. Could you imagine being stalked like that day after day?

  7. Marystat permalink
    December 10, 2009 4:38 pm

    I enjoy looking at Rob pics and hey yes I have even drooled over some pap pics too..but they have NOT been as intrusive as those latest pap pics where Rob was totally cornered. I loathe these. However the kind of Rob pics I actually prefer is him with fans or the well more official ones cos well they are LESS tense and he is aware he is being taken pics off..non intrusive pics like that I enjoy.

    I do NOT understand why some ppl claim that “it comes with the territory, you chose that line of work ya just gotta suck it up and deal with it!” Sure some celebs DO use the paps for PR but I think those are the minority and they will probably be nothing but a B or C celeb. I honestly doubt that any celeb would willingly go thru this kinda scrutiny and just “suck it up” thinking they make so much money and have the success they are craving for. ALL they did was to make a living out of them doing something CREATIVE. They never demanded ppl to buy their music, books, movies, TV shows or whatever. ALL they wanted to do is to do something creative, to create a new character and show it to an audience, or a new song or write a new book or whatever. They do NOT owe the public anything BUT their best work. They do NOT owe the public an insight to their private lives and the public has no right to claim such intrusion.

    And sure us fans can do our share, NOT buying the mags using pap pics. NOT going to the pap sites or tabloid sites to look at their videos and pics. If there is no market and demand for it then they will not have a job to feed the frenzy. Supply and demand..yep I get all that. YET when you see pics like we saw of Rob the other day..and other previously intrusive ones…it is TIME to stand up and voice our disgust. The fact that other ppl outside the fandom (like the email TOR received) and even some of the Twi-cast (Tinsel Korey) notice this kind of fan action speaks volumes to me.

    It is bloody time to start looking at actors, musicians, and so on who reaches this kind of celebrity as HUMAN BEINGS. Not as public property. They have a job and when they are not working they are at their OWN free time. Celeb’s personal space should be respected as much as any other ordinary person out there.

    It is all about respect really, and treat these public figures as human beings with the same kind of respect as you’d want to receive from them. Give and take it’s what this is. They give their best work to the fans and also their time when they can..but when they are NOT working they are a private individual with as much rights to privacy as you have. Simple as that really 🙂

    • 1948iFeLtHoPe permalink
      December 11, 2009 12:11 am

      Very nicely said. Just because I’ve went into a profession that I love and made something that other people enjoy shouldn’t mean that every facet of my life should be publicly displayed. I would hate to know that I couldn’t walk out of my front door in my pajamas, without brushing my hair or anything, for fear that someone would take a picture and place it on the internet and on magazines for the world to see.

      Like you, I love looking at pictures of Rob. I’m definitely interested in what movie he’s going to do next; I enjoy listening to and watching him in interviews, as well as in movies. But I don’t care about seeing him leave a restaraunt or a bar; I don’t need to know what he eats or what he had to drink; I don’t care who he’s dating or not dating; I don’t care if he walks outside with brushing or washing his hair. That’s his life. I would want my life scrutinized because of the profession I have chosen. I’m feel like most people would not want that, so wouldn’t life be much better if everyone followed that golden rule and treated others as they themselves would like to be treated.

      For the paps and the people that naysay this campaign, I can’t help but wonder what their reaction would be for someone to hide in a bush outside of their home and take a picture of them looking unkempt or perhaps click a photo from around the corner just as they shove a cheeseburger into their wide open mouth, and then place that photo on the web or in a magazine. Even if it wouldn’t garner as much attention as a pic of a celeb, I’m sure many people would not enjoy it.

      • 1948iFeLtHoPe permalink
        December 11, 2009 12:13 am

        sorry, I meant to say that I wouldn’t want my life scrutinzed because of the profession I have chosen. Note to self: Proofread before posting. 😉

      • December 12, 2009 9:21 am

        Very well said. Thank you.

  8. Maria in CT permalink
    December 11, 2009 7:48 am

    I really enjoyed listening to the podcast. It’s so cool that your campaign has captured the attention of so many people and I really hope that it will have a positive impact. In the end, I hope that it will finally influence legislators to do something about these invasive leaches who put people’s lives in danger, let along cause them so much misery.

    On a side note, right before I went to bed last night, I did something I hadn’t done in a while. I thought, why not google Rob’s name and see what comes up? Well, your campaign came up right near the top. That speaks volumes. Keep up the great work!

    • Maria in CT permalink
      December 11, 2009 7:52 am

      Funny thing. The second I posted this I got an email from wordpress asking me to confirm my subscription to comments. So I’m going to assume that it will work on this site. That never happened to me on ToR since the site changed. Just can’t figure out why it won’t work there.

      • December 12, 2009 9:20 am

        That’s because this is WordPress.com, whereas ToR is just using a WordPress template.

    • December 12, 2009 9:20 am

      That’s awesome!!!

  9. bridgit permalink
    December 11, 2009 9:25 am

    So i guess your screening your comments since mine didn’t show up. Not sure why. I wasn’t being negative towards your efforts i just thought you might want to direct them at something Rob really cares about and is probably more of an issue to him than getting his picture taken all the time.

  10. January 15, 2010 5:58 pm

    Very nicely said. Just because I’ve went into a profession that I love and made something that other people enjoy shouldn’t mean that every facet of my life should be publicly displayed. I would hate to know that I couldn’t walk out of my front door in my pajamas, without brushing my hair or anything, for fear that someone would take a picture and place it on the internet and on magazines for the world to see.

    Like you, I love looking at pictures of Rob. I’m definitely interested in what movie he’s going to do next; I enjoy listening to and watching him in interviews, as well as in movies. But I don’t care about seeing him leave a restaraunt or a bar; I don’t need to know what he eats or what he had to drink; I don’t care who he’s dating or not dating; I don’t care if he walks outside with brushing or washing his hair. That’s his life. I would want my life scrutinized because of the profession I have chosen. I’m feel like most people would not want that, so wouldn’t life be much better if everyone followed that golden rule and treated others as they themselves would like to be treated.

    For the paps and the people that naysay this campaign, I can’t help but wonder what their reaction would be for someone to hide in a bush outside of their home and take a picture of them looking unkempt or perhaps click a photo from around the corner just as they shove a cheeseburger into their wide open mouth, and then place that photo on the web or in a magazine. Even if it wouldn’t garner as much attention as a pic of a celeb, I’m sure many people would not enjoy it.

    Reply
    eu nao seu fala ingles mais vc pode me ajudar ne

Leave a Reply

